Best Paper Awards for 2017

Experimental Biology in Basic Research

Effect of copper on nuclear translocation of copper chaperone for superoxide dismutase-1

Lin Wang, Yan Ge, Y James Kang
First Published April 15, 2016; pp. 1483–1488 

Burt Sobel Clinical/Preclinical and Translational

 A case-control genome-wide association study identifies genetic modifiers of fetal hemoglobin in sickle cell disease

Li Liu, Alexander Pertsemlidis, Liang-Hao Ding, Michael D Story, Martin H Steinberg, Paola Sebastiani,
Carolyn Hoppe, Samir K Ballas, Betty S Pace
First Published March 27, 2016; pp. 706–718 

Alan MacDiarmid Award for Interdisciplinary Research 

A human liver microphysiology platform for investigating physiology, drug safety, and disease models

Lawrence A Vernetti, Nina Senutovitch, Robert Boltz, Richard DeBiasio, Tong Ying Shun, Albert Gough, D Lansing Taylor
First Published July 22, 2015; pp. 101–114


Best Paper Awards for 2016


Experimental Biology in Basic Research

Ke Liang, Xue-qin Ding, Chen Lin, and Y James Kang

Featured Article: Hypoxia-inducible factor-1α dependent nuclear entry of factor inhibiting HIF-1

Exp Biol Med (Maywood) November 2015 240: 1446-1451, first published on February 16, 2015 doi:10.1177/1535370215570821


Burt Sobel Clinical/Preclinical and Translational

Laurent-Emmanuel Monfoulet, Claire Philippe, Sylvie Mercier, Véronique Coxam, and Yohann Wittrant

Featured Article: Deficiency of G-protein coupled receptor 40, a lipid-activated receptor, heightens in vitro- and in vivo-induced murine osteoarthritis

Exp Biol Med (Maywood) July 2015 240: 854-866, first published on January 13, 2015 doi:10.1177/1535370214565078


Alan MacDiarmid Award for Interdisciplinary Research

Lars C Huber, Silvia Ulrich, Caroline Leuenberger, Max Gassmann, Johannes Vogel, Leonardo Glutz von Blotzheim, Rudolf Speich, Malcolm Kohler, and Matthias Brock

Featured Article: microRNA-125a in pulmonary hypertension: Regulator of a proliferative phenotype of endothelial cells

Exp Biol Med (Maywood) December 2015 240: 1580-1589, first published on April 7, 2015 doi:10.1177/1535370215579018


Best Paper Awards for 2015

Experimental Biology Award in Basic Science
Mulchand S Patel, Malathi Srinivasan, Brenda Strutt, Saleh Mahmood, and David J Hill 

Beta cell specific pyruvate dehydrogenase alpha gene deletion results in a reduced islet number and β-cell mass postnatally.
Exp Biol Med (Maywood) August 2014 239: 975-985, first published on May 20, 2014 doi:10.1177/1535370214531895 

Alan MacDiarmid Award in Interdisciplinary Research

Anna Tourovskaia, Mark Fauver, Gregory Kramer, Sara Simonson, and Thomas Neumann
Tissue-engineered microenvironment systems for modeling human vasculature Exp Biol Med (Maywood) September 2014 239: 1264-1271, first published on July 16, 2014 doi:10.1177/1535370214539228 

Burton E. Sobel Award in the Clinical/Preclinical Category

Jessica A Immonen, Ian S Zagon, and Patricia J McLaughlin
Selective blockade of the OGF–OGFr pathway by naltrexone accelerates fibroblast proliferation and wound healing
Exp Biol Med (Maywood) October 2014 239: 1300-1309, first published on July 16, 2014 doi:10.1177/1535370214543061 


Best Paper Awards for 2014

Experimental Biology Award in Basic Science
Lim HH, Lee SO, Kim SY, Yang SJ, Lim Y. Anti-inflammatory and anti-obesity effects of mulberry leaf and fruit extract on high fat-diet induced obesity. Exp Biol Med 2013 238(10):1160-9
Alan MacDiarmid Award in Interdisciplinary Research
Wang M, Li P, Liu M, Song, W, Wu, Q, Fan Y. Potential protective effect of biphasic electrical stimulation against growth factor-dprived apopotosis on olfactory bulb neural progenitor cells through the brain-derived neurotrophic factor-phosphatidylinositol 3’kinase/Akt pathway. Exp Biol Med August 2013 238: 959-959
Burton E. Sobel Award in the Clinical/Preclinical Category

Voloshyna I, Modayil S, Littlefield MJ, Belilos E, Belostocki K, Bonetti L, Rosenblum G, Carsons SE, Reiss AB. Plasma from rheumatoid arthritis patients promotes pro-atherogenic cholesterol transport gene expression in THP-1 human macrophages. Exp Biol Med Oct 2013 238: 1192-1197

Best Paper Awards for 2012

Category: Clinical/Preclinical and Translational

Warner D, Mukhopadhyay P, Webb C, Greene RM, Pisano MM
Chromatin immunoprecipitation-promotor microarray identification of genes regulated by PRDM16 in murine embryonic palate mesenchtymal cells
Experimental Biology and Medicine 237: 387-394

Category: Experimental Biology

Zhou Y-B, Zhang J, Cai Y, Teng X, Duan X-h, Song J-q, Du J, Tang C-s and Qi Y-f
Insulin resistance induces medial artery calcification in fructose-fed rats
Biology and Medicine 237: 50-57

Alan MacDiarmid Award in the Interdisciplinary Research Category

Zhu K, Guo C, Xu D and Wang C
Novel vascular endothelial growth factor gene delivery system-manipulated mesenchymal stem cells repair infarcted myocardium
Experimental Biology and Medicine 237:678-

Best Paper Awards for 2011

Category: Clinical/Preclinical and Translational

Bindu Kanathezhath, Myra Mizokami, Sharleny Stanislaus, Catherine Hounshell, Lynne Neumayr, Hua Guo, John E Hearst, Mark C Walters, and Frans A Kuypers
Improved engraftment with minimal graft-versus host disease after major histocompatability complex-mismatched cord blood transplantation with photochemically treated donor lymphocytes
Exp Bio Med 236(4): 492-504

Category: Experimental Biology

Yukio Hirabyashi , Yoshihiro Hatta, Jin Takeuchi , Isao Tsuboi , Tomonori Harada, Kentaro Ono , Wilhelm R Glomm, Masahiro Yasuda , Shin Aizawa
Novel three-dimensional long-term bone marrow culture system using polymer particles with grafted epoxy-polymer-chains supports the proliferation and differentiation of hematopoietic stem cells
Exp Biol Med 236(11): 1342-1350

Alan MacDiarmid Award in the Interdisciplinary Research Category

Christopher Lotz, Maria Lazariotto, Andreas Redel, Thorsten M. Smul, Jan Stumpner, Christoph Blomeyer, Tobias Tischer-Zeitz, Johannes Schmidt, Joanna Pociej, Norbert Roewer, Franz Kehl and Markus Lange
Activation of peroxisome-proliferator-activated receptors a and g mediates remote ischemic preconditioning against myocardial infarction in vivo
Exp Biol Med 236(1): 113-122687

Best Paper Awards for 2010

Category: Clinical/Preclinical and Translational

Christopher J French, A K M T Zaman, Robert J Kelm, Jr, Jeffrey L Spees, and Burton E Sobel
Vascular rhexis: loss of integrity of coronary vasculature in mice subjected to myocardial infarction
Exp. Biol. Med. 235(8): 966—973

Category: Experimental Biology

J Michael Nicholson, Edith J Arany, and David J Hill
Changes in islet microvasculature following streptozotocin-induced β-cell loss and subsequent replacement in the neonatal rat
Exp. Biol. Med. 235(2): 189—198

Alan MacDiarmid Award in the Interdisciplinary Research Category

Chase W Kessinger, Chalermchai Khemtong, Osamu Togao, Masaya Takahashi, Baran D Sumer, and Jinming Gao
In vivo angiogenesis imaging of solid tumors by αvβ3-targeted, dual-modality micellar nanoprobes
Exp. Biol. Med. 235(8): 957—965