Committees

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee oversees the processes for identifying and validating the eligibility of the recipients of the Society for Experimental Biology Distinguished Scientist, Young Investigator and Best Paper Awards.

Chairperson

Tom Thompson (Chair)
thompstb@ucmail.uc.edu
Term ends: 2019

Clint Allred
Louisiana State University HSC 
jgardn@lsuhsc.edu
Term ends: 2020

Santosh D'Mello
sdmello@smu.edu
Term ends: 2020

Elia El Hajj
eelhaj@lsuhsc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Nathalie Fuentes
nfuentes1@hmc.psu.edu
Term ends: 2018

Justin Sprick
Justin.Sprick@live.unthsc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Rachel Fenske
 
University of Wisconsin - Madison
rjfenske@wisc.edu
Term ends: 2019

Andreea Trache
Texas A&M Health Science Center
trache@tamu.edu
Term Ends: 2019

Finance and Investment Committee

The Finance and Investment Committee supervises the finances of the Society, reviews the annual budget prepared by the Executive Director and submits the budget to the Council. The Committee holds a minimum of one meeting each year for review of the budget. The committee is responsible for the appropriate disbursement of funds by the Treasurer and Executive Director as indicated by the budget and for the investment and management of all assets of the Society.

Chairperson

Treasurer
Patricia J. McLaughlin, PhD
Penn State University College of Medicine
pxm9@psu.edu
Term ends: 2018

Nancy Turner, PhD
n-turner@tamu.edu
Term ends: 2020

Jian Feng, PhD
jianfeng@buffalo.edu
Term Ends: 2021

Holly Lavoie, PhD
Email: holly.lavoie@uscmed.sc.edu
Term ends: 2021

Steve Youngentob
syoungen@uthsc.edu
Term ends: 2020

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee consists of four regular members of the Society. The committee is charged with reviewing member recruitment strategies and approving member applications. The committee meets annually to consider membership recruitment strategies to enhance the Society's mission.

Chairperson

H. Rex Gaskins, PhD
University of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign

hgaskins@illinois.edu
Term ends: 2018

Dirk Duncker, MD, PhD
Erasmus University Medical Center | Professor of Experimental Cardiology
d.duncker@erasmusmc.nl
Term ends: 2021

Farzin Farzaneh, PhD | International Councilor
King's College London | Rayne Institute Se5 | Denmark Hill
United Kingdom
farzin.farzaneh@kcl.ac.uk
Term Ends: 2021

Louis Justement, PhD

Univ of Alabama-Birmingham
lbjust@uab.edu
Term ends: 2020

Shigemi Matsuyama, PhD
Case Western Reserve Univeristy
shigemi.matsuyama@case.edu
Term Ends 2020

Warren E. Zimmer, PhD
Texas A&M HSC / College of Medicine | Systems Biology & Translational Medicine
wezimmer@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Term ends: 2021

Nominating Committee

It is the duty of the Nominating Committee to prepare lists of nominees from the members as described in Article IX of the Bylaws, with a view to securing wide representation in the Council.

Chairperson

Jason D. Gardner, PhD
Louisiana State University HSC
jgardn@lsuhsc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Jian Feng PhD
State University of New York at Buffalo 
jianfeng@buffalo.edu
Term ends: 2018

Denis M. Medeiros, PhD, RD
University of Missouri at Kansas City
medeirosd@umkc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Brandt Schneider, PhD
Texas Tech University HSC
brandt.schneider@ttuhsc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Peter Stambrook, PhD

University of Cincinnati Medical Center 
peter.stambrook@uc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Outreach Committee

The Outreach committee oversee the SEBM Sherpas, Organize Task Force to Identify Outreach Opportunities and Recruit SEBM Members Participation in order to introduce SEBM to up-and-coming researchers, and build membership and our brand.

Chairperson


Robert K. Dearth (Chair)
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley 
elairobert.dearth@utrgv.edu
Term Ends: 2021

Jacqueline Hibbert, PhD
Moorehouse School of Medicine 
jhibbert@msm.edu
Term ends: 2019

Megan Dailey, PhD
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
mdailey5@illinois.edu
Term ends: 2018

Karen Doersch
Texas A&M Health Science Center
doersch@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Term end: 2019

Rachel Fenske 
University of Wisconsin - Madison
rjfenske@wisc.edu
Term ends: 2018

Paul Stein, PhD
Onciomed
steinpm@hotmail.com
Term ends: 2018

Colleen Stoyas
University of California, San Diego
cstoyas@ucsd.edu
Term ends: 2018

Publication Committee

The Publication Committee consists of four regular members of the Society and is responsible for consulting with the Editor-in-Chief and the Council regarding major editorial policy decisions for the Journal, Experimental Biology and Medicine.

Chairperson

Leszek Kotula, PhD
SUNY Upstate New York University 
kotulal@upstate.edu
Term ends: 2019

Richard Bruno, PhD, RD
The Ohio State University 
bruno.27@osu.edu
Term ends: 2019

Betty Pace, PhD
Georgia Regents University
bpace@gru.edu
Term ends: 2020

Steve Youngentob, PhD
syoungen@uthsc.edu
Term ends: 2021