The Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine is governed by a Council consisting of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Treasurer, and Treasurer-Elect, each elected for a term of two years; twelve Councilors, each elected for a term of four years; the Chairpersons of the Publication and Membership Committees, each serving concurrently with their appointed tenure as chairs of the respective committees; and the Executive Director and Editor-In-Chief as non voting ex-officio members. The Executive Director appointed by the Council is responsible for the management of the affairs of the Society under general supervision of the Council.

SEBM is a not-for-profit scientific organization with 501(c)3 federal and state tax-exempt status.